OnePlan

Save, import, and delete plan templates

Updated

This article explains how to save plan templates within a the Work Plan grid of a plan.

Plan templates can be used across all work types.

Plan templates can only be saved and imported from the Schedule work type view. When you save a template from the Schedule work type view, all work type items in all work types in the plan will be saved.

There do not need to be any items in the Schedule work type to save a new template.

Save a template

To save a template:

  1. Configure the work types as desired.
  2. Go to the Schedule work type view.
  3. Click the hamburger menu next to the Work Type menu.
  4. Click Save Template. The Save Template form will open.
  5. Complete the Save Template form.
    • Template Name: Enter the template name.
      NOTE: It is best practice to include "template" in the name of your templates. This makes it easier to locate in the Bulk Plan Cleanup tool if you would like to delete the template. See Delete a template.
    • Description: Enter a description for the template.
    • Personal: Check the check box if the template is a personal template.
  6. Click Save to save the new template.

Import a template

To import a template:

  1. Go to the Schedule work type view.
  2. Click the hamburger menu next to the Work Type menu.
  3. Click Insert Template. The Insert Template window will open.
  4. Select where to insert the project template from the Location drop down.
    • End of Project
    • Under Selected Task (As Child)
    • After Task
  5. Locate the template to import.
    1. Select which kind of template you are searching for (Organization or Personal).
    2. If necessary, type in the template name into the Find Template field.
    3. Select the desired template from the list of templates.
  6. Click Insert Template to insert the template.

Delete a template

You can use the Bulk Plan Cleanup tool in the Admin pages to delete a template. See What are the Tools options? for instructions on using the tool.

NOTE: Only users with administrative permissions can use the Bulk Plan Cleanup tool.

NOTE: It is best practice to include "template" in the name of your templates. This makes it easier to locate in the Bulk Plan Cleanup tool if you would like to delete the template.

Previous Article Grid options - Resources
Next Article Grid options - Replace Resources